Welcome to the English Language Arts Department Website!

Department Members with Email Address:
Mrs. Jillian Yantz, Language Arts Coordinator  yantzj@region10ct.org
Mrs. Donna Langer, Reading Teacher: Langerd@region10ct.org
Mrs. Tania McNaboe: McNaboet@region10ct.org
Ms. Lindsey Humphrey: Humphreyl@region10ct.org
Mrs. Brynn Mandel: Mandelb@region10ct.org
Mrs. Meredith Porri: Porrim@region10ct.org
Mr. Matthew Krampitz: Krampitzm@region10ct.org
Mr. Ryan Cerniglia: Cernigliar@region10ct.org
Ms. Nicole Lungarini: Lungarinin@region10ct.org
Mrs. Marlana Elsdon: Elsdonm@region10ct.org

Text Box

Core Values 
 

 

Perseverance  

 

  • All learners will continuously improve, overcoming setbacks, to maximize their potential. 

 

Respect 

 

  • All learners will develop an appreciation for a diversity of voices and perspectives in an increasingly complex world. 

 

Integrity 

 

  • All learners will consistently reflect on their behaviors to act with honesty, holding themselves to high ethical standards. 

 

Discipline 

 

  • All learners will achieve when held to high standards of academic excellence. 

 

Engagement   

 

  • All learners will develop skills to be productive in varied communities.   

 

 

Vision of the Graduate & Learning Expectations 

Region 10 graduates will be: 

 

Inquisitive Learners

Innovative Leaders

Responsible Citizens

  • Apply critical thinking skills across multiple disciplines

  • Demonstrate resourcefulness to independently gather and evaluate evidence

  • Demonstrate curiosity and creativity through questioning and exploration

 

  • Develop creative solutions to authentic problems

  • Articulate and communicate evidence-based ideas clearly and concisely

  • Collaborate with diverse partners on topics & issues using a variety of resources

 

  • Contribute to the well-being of society through cultural awareness, civic engagement, and personal responsibility

  • Examine and understand multiple perspectives to cultivate relationships and build community

  • Make informed, ethical, and responsible decisions, including the use of technology

 

 

The English Language Arts department is dedicated to developing our learners' 21st century college and career ready skills within an engaging and rigorous curricular structure.  Through our learning progressions, we promote student efficacy ensuring each student achieves success beyond high school. 


 

 

Essential Questions:

Our overarching essential questions are designed to provide a focus for student learning. 

Students of Regional School District #10 are expected to: 
Contribute to the well-being of society through cultural awareness, civic engagement, and personal responsibility; * Examine and understand multiple perspectives to cultivate relationships and build community; * Make informed, ethical, and responsible decisions, including the use of technology
 

 Understanding the world 

How do the texts we read help us form connections and build community? 

 

Understanding you and the world  

 

How do the texts we read teach us about ourselves and the world around us? 

 

Understanding You in the world 

 

How do the texts we read teach us about our individual and collective responsibility to society? 

 

Understanding what impact/change you can have in the world 

 

How do we transfer our learning to be informed, ethical and responsible voices in the world? 


 

To view or Reading & Writing Philosophy Letter, please click on the PDF below:
Reading/Writing Letter.pdf